Elephants flex muscle

June 20, 2015

Super League leaders Pahang made statement of intent after demolishing Police, who dropped to third place after the match  at the Shah Alam Stadium.

Matias Conti was the toast of the night after walking home with the match ball after his hattrick ensure Pahang a 5-3 win.


Pahang went into the break with a 3-0 lead


Former Harimau Muda starlet D. Saarvindran took on two defenders before slotting past Wilfred Jabun just six minutes into the match.


Dickson Nwakaeme could have made it 2-0 eight minutes later but Dickson Nwakaeme couldn’t apply the finish to a cross  by Matias Conti, who tore the Police defence at the edge of the box.


Conti squandered a open header in the 35th minute but made the most of Wilfred’s spill three minutes later to put Pahang ahead.


The Police defence slept just before the halftime whistle as Saarvindran played Conti for a simple tap in.


Police did not have a single decent chance at Khairul Azhan Khalid’s goal in the half.

Police pulled one back thanks to Dramane Traore header in the 49th minute but Pahang restored their three goal advantage eight minutes later.


Saarvindran, who only started because of Azamuddin Akil’s suspension, forced Wilfred to spill a thunderous freekick, which Nwakaeme duly converted in the 57th minute.


Conti sealed his hattrick with a header barely a feet from goal in the 69 minute while Traore score a consolation from the spot in the 77th minute.

Traore scored another from the spot in the 89th minute.


Pahang XI: Khairul Azhan, Saiful Nizam, Damion Stewart, Zeshan Rehman, Matias Conti, Dickson Nwakaeme, Razman Roslan, S. Saarvindran, Hafiz Kamal, R.Gopinathan, Matthew Davis.
Subs: Azidan Sarudin, Syawal Norsam, Fauzi Roslan, Shahrizan Salleh, Nasril Mat Nourdin, Rizua Shafiqi, Norazam Abd Aziz
Police XI: Wilfred Jabun, Ahmad Nizam Rodzi, Ashfaq Ali, Shahruain Abu Samah, Dramane Traore, Fauzi Abd Majid, V. Thirumurugan, Fekry Tajudin, Muslim Ahmad, Mohamadou Sumareh, Jaime Celestino.
Subs: Saiful Amar Sudar, Arman Fareez Ali, Ahmed Erzrie Shafizie, Nurul Azwan Roya, Faizal Abu Bakar, Afif Amiruddin, Isma Alif Mohd Salimm.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH