Pahang and Selangor cancel each other out

February 14, 2015

Pahang and Selangor shared the spoils with a 1-1 draw at the Darul Makmur Stadium on Saturday.

ZA7 0279a

Both teams were searching their first win the season after opening day losses. Selangor lost 2-0 to Terengganu in their season opener while Pahang fell by the same scoreline to Johor Darul Takzim.

Pahang and Selangor were unable to get a first half advantage as both teams went into the dressing room at half time with the score at 0-0.

DSC 0508

It was balanced half as both teams created chances but could not make the most of them.

Selangor took the offensive from start and won a corner after just two minutes but it was wasted as the Red Giants could not find a target in box. Dickson Nwakaeme saw a header fly over the crossbar at the other end a minute later.

DSC 0382

Midfielder Hafiz Kamal, centrebacks Zesh Rehman, Damion Stewart and forward Matias Conti all had chances to put the Elephants ahead but could not find the mark as the half drew to a close.

Selangor again started brightly but it was the host who broke the deadlock first as Conti put the ball past Norazlan Razali in the 58th minute.

MUS 7576

However, the lead only lasted six minutes as a moment of magic from Indonesian winger Andik Vermansyah, who dribbled his way into the box before finding the back of the net, levelled the tie.

DSC 0492

Nwakaeme and Conti saw chances saved as Pahang searched for the winner. Norazlan saved yet another Hafiz freekick in the 75th minute.

Photo by Safwan Rozi /


Pahang FA XI:

Khairul Azhan Khalid (GK)
Damion Stewart
Zeshan Rahman
R. Surendren
Azidan Sarudin
Matias Conti
Dickson Nwakaeme
Razman Roslan (C)
Hafiz Kamal
Shahrizan Salleh
R. Gopinathan
Jalaluddin Jaafar
Ab. Aziz Ismail
Zaiza Zainal Abidin
Fauzi Roslan
Nasril Nourdin (GK)
Rizua Shafiqi Kamaruzaman
Norazam Abdul Azih

Selangor FA XI:

Norazlan Razali (GK)
Robert Cornthwaite
Azmi Muslim
Shahrom Abd Kalam (C)
Andik Vermansah
Leandro Dos Santos
Nazmi Faiz
Ahmad Hazwan Bakri
Guilherme De Paula
Abdul Hadi Yahya
Azrif Nasrulhaq Badrul Hishan
Syamim Othman (GK)
Bunyamin Umar
Raimi Md Nor
Rizal Fahmi Ab Rosid
Afiq Azmi
S. Veenod
K. Gurusamy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH