Pahang vs Sime Darby

April 19, 2014

Pahang ensured they entered the International break at the top of the Super League standings with a convincing 4-1 win over Sime Darby at the Darul Makmur Stadium.

Sime Darby headed into the match high in spirits after recording back-to-back wins against LionsXII and Kelantan but the Elephants were not going to let their streak continue.

The impressive win kept Pahang’s home record in tact. Zainal Abidin’s side have won all seven of the Super League home matches.

Pahang wasted no time in pressuring Sime Darby to ensure they do not fall to a second successive defeat. Also, The Elephants had a proud record to defend.

With fast flankers on both wings in the likes of R. Gopinathan and R. Surendran, Pahang tore into Sime Darby’s defence with ease, but had yet to compose their final touches.

Dickson Nwakaeme could have played provider on two occasions in the 4th and 6th minutes, but Argentinean Matias Conti was well marked by the visitors.

When Conti finally broke free of the defence in the 19th minute, thanks to a through pass by Nwakaeme once more, goalkeeper Redzuan Harun did well to block the shot but Surendran was left with an easy tap into an empty goalpost.

Conti finally broke his duck, again courtesy of Nwakaeme’s assist, with a calm finish past Redzuan in the 35th minute. Conti doubled his tally from the spot as Pahang took a 3-0 lead in the 45th minute

The home side kept pushing for goals in the second half but it was evident Ismail Zakaria’s half time team talk had regrouped Sime Darby as they kept it tight at the back.

However, their second half resolve was eventually broken after Nwakame shrugged off a couple of defender before taking a well-placed shot past Redzuan in the 65th minute.


Sime Darby netted a consolation goal in the 71st minute through central midfielder Dilshod Sharofetdinov.

PAHANG XI: Khairul Azhan Khalid(GK), Saiful Nizam Miswan, Damion Stewart, R. Surendran, Azidan Sarudin, Matias Conti, Dickson Nwakaeme, Razman Roslan(C), Shahrizan Salleh, Hafiz Kamal, R. Gopinathan

Subs: Jalaludin Jaafar, Zesh Rehman,  Faizol Hussain, Azamuddin Akil, Syawal Norsam,  Fauzi Roslan, Nasril Nourdin (GK).

SIME DARBY XI: Arif Ismail, Fairuz Abdul Aziz, Fahrul Razi Kamaruddin,  Dilshod Sharofetdinov,  Mahmoud Al Amna,  Juzaili Samion (C), Firdaus Faudzi, Fadzli Saari, K. Prabakaran, Redzuan Harun (GK), Mateo Roskam.
Subs: Kamarul Effandi (GK), Azmirul Azmi, Fahrul Hazli, Farderin Kadir, Ahmad Haziq Ahmad Puad, Nur Areff Kamaruddin,  Dzulfahmi A. Hadi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH