Pahang, Global FC share points

March 11, 2015

Pahang was held to a scoreless tie by Global FC at the Darul Makmur Stadium on Wednesday.

It was the visitors first point in the AFC Cup groupstage after a heavy thrashing by South China earlier while Pahang have four points. The Elephants defeat Myanmar’s Yadanarbon 3-2 in the opener.

Pahang and Global FC played a scoreless first half as both sides failed to take their chances in an evenly balanced half.

R. Gopinanthan had a good chance to give the host a good start after just five minutes but a poor first touch allowed Global FC to clear the danger.

Two minutes later Zesh Rehman thanked his lucky stars after clearing the ball onto his own goalpost.

Play was largely centred in the engine room with both teams out playing each other at times but play in the final third was disappointing.

Mark Hartmann could have given the visitors the lead five minute from the break from a counter attack but his shot, under no pressure, went sailing above.

Pahang had a better second half as they pushed closer for a goal. However,  the final touch did not meet expectations.

Hafiz Kamal was presented a golden opportunity by Azidan Sarudin in the 54th minute but headed out instead.

Pahang brought on Dickson Nwakaeme at the hour mark in hope to find a winner. They pushed Global FC deeper but struggled infront of goal.

Gopinathan was presented another golden opportunity,  similar to his winner against Yadanarbon in the first group match, but sent his shot wide in the 77th minute.

Amani Manuel Santos Aguilnaldo was sent off in extra time after picking up his second yellow.

321 4647

PAHANG XI: Khairul Azhan Khalid, Saiful Nizam Miswan, Damion Stewart, Zesh Rehman, Azidan Sarudin, Fauzi Roslan, Shahrizan Salleh, Hafiz Kamal, R. Gopinanthan, Rizua Shafiqi Kamaruzaman, Nor Azam Abdul Azih.

Subs: Jalaluddin Abu Jaafar, Abdul Aziz Ismail, R. Surendran, Dickson Nwakaeme, Faisal Rosli, Zaiza Zainal Abidin, Nashril Mat Nourdin.

GLOBAL FC  XI: Raul Martinez, David Villanueva, Sato Daisuke, Amani Manuel Santos Aguilnaldo, Paulo Salenga, Curt Dizon, Florencio JR Gamba Badelic, Mark Hartamann, Ray Anthony Jonsson, Yanagawa Masaki, Jerry I Barbosa

Subs: Patrik Deyto, Renato Gonzalez, Richard Talaroc, John Christopher Bulala Kanayama

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH