Elephants go on scoring spree in AFC Cup

April 29, 2015

Pahang defeated Yadanarbon 7-4 in the AFC Cup in Kuantan last night.

The win at the Darul Makmur Stadium leaves Pahang only needing a draw away to Global FC next month to secure berth in the knockout stages.

Pahang laid down their intent in the first half, racing to a 3-1 lead over Yadanarbon before the break.

Dickson Nwakaeme, who scored two against Burmese in their earlier group match, opened the scoring just six minutes into the match after receiving a pass from Azamuddin Akil.

Nwakaeme then turn provider for his Argentinean strike partner Matias Conti in 17th minute before making it three nil in the 31st minute.

Djedje Maximim Djawa pulled one back for the visitors just before the half time whistle.

The goals kept flowing in the second half, only this time Yadanarbon matched Pahang blow for blow.

Former Harimau Muda midfielder D. Saarvindran increased the lead with his first goal in Pahang colours two minute after the break.

Substitute Hliang Bo Bo pulled one back in the 57th minute but Nwakaeme bagged his hattrick by heading Saarvindran’s cross a minute later.

Bo Bo bagged his second of the night in the 67th minute.

Hafiz Kamal and Saarvindran scored in the 85th and 87th minute respectively while Win Niang Soe scored a consolation in the 90th minute.

Pahang XI: Khairul Azhan, Shahrizan Salleh, Razman Roslan, Damion Stewart, Matias Conti, Zesh Rehman, Hafiz Kamal, Azamuddin Akil, R.Gopinathan, Dickson Nwakaeme, Nor Azam Abdul Azih

SUBS: Nasril Nourdin, Abdul Aziz Ismail, Azidan Sarudin, D. Saarvindran, Fauzi Roslan, Muhammad Syawal Norsam, Jalalludin Abu Jaafar.

Yadanarbon XI:Thiha Si Thu, Happiness Okpechi, Zaw Ye Tun, Djedje Maximim Djawa, Yan Paing, Nanda Lin Kyaw Chit, Thet Naing, Si Thu Aung, Hein Nay San, Ye Ko Oo, Nay Myo Aung.

SUBS: None, Hlaing Bo Bo, Ye Win Aung, Nyi Nyi Lwin, Shine Thuya, Thet Shine Naung, Win Naing Soe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH