Pahang nearer to the top

May 2, 2015

Pahang  came from behind to defeat Terengganu  3-2 at the Darul Makmur Stadium

The Elephants are now only a point behind leaders Police and have a game in hand against Perak on Tuesday.

DSC 1748

Zesh Rehman scored a brace  in the first half as Pahang led Terengganu 2-1 into the break.

DSC 1731

The Turtles’ Paulo Rangel opened the scoring from the spot in the 23rd minutes but the lead only lasted three minutes as centerback Zesh headed home Hafiz Kamal’s freekick to draw level.

SAF 4899

Earlier, Matias Conti forced Sharbinee Allawee into a save five minutes into play while Dickson Nwakaeme, fresh from a hattrick in the AFC Cup in the midweek,  struck the cross bar in the eighth minute.

SAF 4792-zesh-goal

Zesh headed in the lead just before the break to turn the tie around.

SAF 4867

Pahang continued their rise in the second half and were duly rewarded after Matias Conti converted Nwakaeme’s cross in the 57th minute.

He could have doubled his tally two minutes later but this time  he could not connect with R. Gopinanthan’s cross.

SAF 4818

Custodian Khairul Azhan Khalid was called into action several times but the visitors could  not find a way back into the game until the 80th minute when Rangel scored a second penalty.

SAF 4741

Pahang XI: Khairul Azhan Khalid (GK), Saiful Nizam Miswan, Damion Stewart, Zeshan Rehman, Azamuddin Akil, Razman Roslan (c), Hafiz Kamal, R.Gopinathan, Matias Conti, Dickson Nwakaeme.

Subs: Ab. Aziz Ismail, Azidan Sarudin, D.Saarvindran, Syawal Norsam, Fauzi Roslan, Nasril Mat Nourdin (GK), Norazam Abdul Azih.

Terengganu: Sharbinee Allawee (GK), Vincent Bikana, Zairo Anuar Zailani (C) Gustavo Fabian Lopez, Muhd Hafizal Mohd, Mohd Zubir Azmi, Ahmad Nordin Alias, Ahmad Azlan Zainal, Issey Farrah Morgan Nakajima, Norshahrul Idlan Talaha, Paulo Rangel.

Subs: Muhaimin Omar, Rahdi Yusof, Nasril Izzat Jalil, Sharin Sapien, Abdul Manaf Mamat, Shamirza Yusoff (GK), Ismail Faruqi Ashari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Match

Malaysia Cup
Darul Makmur Stadium, KUANTAN

Malaysia Cup
Perak Stadium, IPOH